TEMPEST ELITE for Atari 400/800 XL XE

peteym5

I am looking for an Atari 7800 programmer to assist with development. Trying to figure out to set it up with 4k of RAM. Tempest Xtreme and Tempest Elite uses lots of pre-calculated tables, will graphics 15 screen, and player-missile RAM. So it would be a different game almost written from  scratch.

Part of it would have to be written from scratch but it is highly possible that some of the main CPU code could be reused since both systems use a 6502 variant processor.  Since the 7800 is a raster machine (and a very good one I might add) it would be able to handle all of the Tempest characters easily.  You might be able to bring those over as well since the MARIA chip handles sprites in a similar fashion as GTIA...just turn the images in an upside-down order.

I'm still learning how to program the 7800 but I would need aide in understanding, in dummy terms, how the DLL and DL are made up.  That is my only block.  Everything else I can figure out.

Well doing the ship and objects coming up the web should be easy with the 7800. I am wondering what would be a good way to do the web graphics itself.

Hmmm...you should be able to treat the "web" like a "maze" in Ms. Pac-Man.  And knowing the cart sizes available for the 7800 it should be able to easily hold 100 or more webs.  But it all comes down to the skill of the programmer(s).

The sounds would be the trouble spot.  Unless Lance would be willing to place POKEY chips on the carts I don't believe there would be much of the music intact knowing the 2-channel limitations of TIA.  Although some games pulled the TIA sounds off really well I don't think it would be able to handle the music in Tempest Elite by itself.  Maybe if there was a way to combine the TIA sounds with POKEY music but you risk slowing the CPU down when accessing any TIA functions.