Apple II -- why do they seem so rare?

RickR

Back in the 80's, they were very popular.  Lots of people and schools had them.  Apple II computers....whether they were the II, II+, IIe, IIc models.

But why are they so scarce now?  I've been hoping to find one to buy for many years, but I've rarely ever seen one for sale.  Why???

Is it because they were so large?  Were they fragile -- and thus broken and thrown away?  Where did they all go?

I don't think they held up well, to be honest.

And yeah, they were popular....but they were also VERY VERY expensive.   When I grew up I knew ONE kid that had an Apple.  I knew many that had C-64's and Atari 8-bits, TRS-80s and CoCos. 

Edited by Rowsdower70

"For you - Rowsdower from the 70 - have been appointed Omnivisioner of the Game Grid."  ~ Atari Adventure Square

Most of the time I spent with an Apple II(e) was in High School.  Until they came out with the IIgs, it wasn't very good for gaming in my opinion.   Sound and graphics were both sub-par compared to the Commodore and Atari computers.

"For you - Rowsdower from the 70 - have been appointed Omnivisioner of the Game Grid."  ~ Atari Adventure Square

Most of the time I spent with an Apple II(e) was in High School.  Until they came out with the IIgs, it wasn't very good for gaming in my opinion.   Sound and graphics were both sub-par compared to the Commodore and Atari computers.

Aha!  I think it was kind of a chore to get a proper sound board and get joysticks connected.  Also, the joysticks were analog.  Maybe that's part of it.  No cartridges.  You need a floppy drive.  Do they work with TV's?  I think a monitor is needed. 

I think we are circling our answer...I think it may be a painful thing to collect.