What would be a good game to start out?

Luciousness

Hello guys! I'm new to the retro games world and I don't even have a Sega or Atari yet. I will get one from my cousin soon. I wanted to start my collection young so I can see what it was like in the 70s/80s. My question is what would be a great game for me to start out with to play and collect? Thanks!!

-Luciousness

start off with the same one I did.........Adventure!

Brian Matherne - owner/curator of "The MOST comprehensive list of Atari VCS/2600 homebrews ever compiled." http://tiny.cc/Atari2600Homebrew

author of "The Atari 2600 Homebrew Companion" book series available on Amazon! www.amazon.com/author/brianmatherne

Dude, you gotta start with all the classics. Many of the best games for Atari 2600 are the most common, and the least expensive. sometimes you can find them for as little as $.25! Games like Asteroids, Space Invaders, Missile Command, Defender, Stargate, Yars Revenge, Ms. Pac-Man, Warlords, Super Breakout just to name a few. Plus third-party games like Pitfall and Cosmic Ark. There are some less common games that are really good like Pac-Man Junior and Solaris that you need to get. You should be able to find a package deal with all of these games somewhere for pretty cheap. Good luck!

Totally agree. Go with the classics first to get the cool gameplay that got us hooked.

Space Invaders is a good one, actually. After Combat (two-player only - came with the VCS), Space Invaders was the next one to get massive play at my house.

Got it as a gift along with the 2600, so that helped. But it came out simultaneously and helped sell the idea that home gaming could be a good alternate to arcade play.

SI was the most perfect port of an arcade game at the time, and it was a very popular Atari cart (was it only for the 2600? I would assume not but don't recall any immediate conversions, and I digress anyway, must focus back on Atari, yes).