In the last few years (in the TI world), has newer always been better?

- Ω -

Over the past few years, the TI community has been lucky enough to have been inundated with a flood of new stuff in every category.   Be it software as in games or utilities, hardware like the FinalGROM and TIPI.  But it starts one wondering is newer always better?  Is there something 'older' out there for the TI, that in your opinion, that has held up to the test time?

<<< My YouTube Page >>>

I think it's a good question for those who grew up with the machine.  

My history with the TI is very limited.  My first home computer was a Commodore VIC-20.  I graduated to an Atari 800XL after a few years.  My friends mostly had Commodore 64.

For those three, I mostly love being able to do everything we could do back in the old days.  Play games, maybe access a few BBS's.  So I'm not really interested in the new things the machines can do.  I do really appreciate the devices that let you load software without tapes or floppies (SD card or multi-carts).  New games and new demos are cool.  The Atari machines prove to be especially elegant as retro machines.  There are many very easy to use SD card solutions that don't require anything other than a base machine.

For TI, I don't really want to play tic-tac-toe over the internet or leave messages to people I don't know anyway.  I just want to experience the machine and software for what it was in the 1980's.  Since I don't have a history with it, it's all new to me.  And that's what makes it so fun.

Don't get me wrong.  I appreciate all the hard work and the enjoyment people get out of the new devices.  To each his own.  But maybe this explains why my eyes glaze over when people start talking about modifying config files on a TIPI.   And I know that's a completely different perspective than those that grew up with and used those machines for decades.  

4 hours ago, RickR said: