Playing All of the TI 99/4A Speech Games

RickR

I finally got my TI 99/4A out and have a grand plan to try out all of the "Speech" games.  I always thought it was so cool that the TI was the one home computer that had a decently-supported speech synthesis unit, and I remember that it really works well. 

As you know, I'm no TI expert.  So if you know of any speech games I should try, please let me know!  I know I'll go over Parsec, Alpiner, Demon Attack, and Star Trek.  Again, please help me find them all!

First of all, a quick look at my setup.  It's a standard issue TI-99/4A with the speech unit.  I've added a 32k sideboard, a FlashROM99, and an Atari joystick adapter.

1383538612_TI005.JPG.508b5ab135f29b0a4b57468f61275a31.JPG

The first speech game I will try is called "Borzork", and it's a Berzerk clone done by nanochess over at the AtariAge forums:  https://atariage.com/forums/topic/283561-borzork/?do=findComment&comment=4198985

How is the game?

I've been wanting to try this one for a long time.  I love Berzerk.  This version is incredible.  It plays a lot faster than I was expecting.  That makes it challenging!  It's got great graphics, great colors.  Just all around a pretty perfect Berzerk clone. 

How is the speech?

The speech in this game is AWESOME.  Have you played the Atari 5200 version of Berzerk?  The speech there sounds good, but it only plays while nothing else is going on.  That's because the Atari uses all it's clock cycles to generate the speech.  No such limitation here.  The robots chatter constantly.  There seem to be about 3 different distinct robot voices.  And they go without any slow-downs in the game.  INCREDIBLE. 

Final Grade:

A+.  THIS is the definitive home port of Berzerk.  If you have a TI, you need to try this game.  

PS - I understand this game can be purchased in cart form, and I think I'm going to pursue that.  As long as the developer Nanochess gets the proceeds.