Best Homebrew Pac-Man

Csolo

As you all may know, the original Pac-Man on the Atari 2600 can be a point of contention.  Others may say that it's good and the best they could get as a kid and others say it's a rushed and crappy port and everything in between.  With that said, I went on a little journey to try a few of the bigger hacks and compare them to find THE Pac-Man to play when I switch on my wood grained console.  I also understand that this community may have a lot more wisdom than me and I'm interested to hear what you guys think is the best Pac-Man to play on the console.

image.png.d9650a20ba66b4784e53f7d078e63c71.png

The first title I saw when looking for a homebrew Pac-Man was Hack'em.  This game is Pesco by Ebivision, which was then hacked by Nukey Shay to make it closely resemble Pac-Man.  This game is pretty fun but with a few minor problems that made it difficult to pick it as my go-to Pac-Man.  Now I'm no expert in Pac-Man, but I've played quite a bit of ports and the arcade version with my dad and the one glaring issue this game has for me is the speed.  This game is FAST!  Now I'm not against a super sped up Pac-Man game, but something felt very off with this game.  Other than the speed, the other thing I noticed about this game was it would slow down at some points.  The siren would slow down, the game would slow down, the ghost would slow down.  In a game where quick and precise inputs are needed to evade, bait and chase, this is a deal breaker.  I'm not sure if I had an older ROM or what the case may be, but it annoyed me to no end.  I also had a few times when I was playing and the game just cut out on me or froze up.  Not sure if that was a problem with my Harmony cartridge or if it was the ROM, but yeah, when it happened, it was game over and I went off to do something else.  I'd be interested to hear what you guys think and if you have run into any of those problems with this particular hack.