Jump to content

The Dragon Trilogy (Todd Furmanski)


Recommended Posts


Release Date: December 29, 2023

Retail: $4.99 each

Developer(s): Todd Furmanski

Publisher: Todd Furmanski

Official Site

Todd Furmanski's "Dragon Trilogy" for the Atari 7800 is now available on the Atari VCS.  All three games are priced at just $4.99 ea.

Dragon's Cache:

In Dragon’s Cache you must match three or more gemstones in rows, columns, or diagonal lines as they fall from the top of the board. Unmatched gems will stay on the board until they are matched. The game will end when enough unmatched gems accumulate to reach past the top of the board, or, if you’re in racing mode, you reduce your predefined score to zero. The consequences of matching the gems depends on the play mode selected.

In normal play, matched gems are collected, incrementing your score. Once collected, any gems remaining on the board might fall, filling in any gaps created. If these gems also make matches, you collect those gems as well, with higher scoring value. With skill or luck, you can create cascades of gems leading to massive amounts of points!

Dragon's Descent:

To make progress in the maze, find the key on each level and then the level's exit. The exit, a door with a blinking key imprint, will only activate if you touch it while you have the key located on the same level. Upon each new level you will face more dangers but also potentially increased power and scoring!

Avoid touching walls and enemies - doing so will deplete your hit points, and eventually terminate your game! Increase your score by collecting gems and defeating monsters. You receive more points for defeating monsters in deeper levels, and a slightly higher score for each shot you use with higher fire breath power.

In addition to a key and exit, each level of the Labyrinth has a treasure room. These allow you to pick one of three power ups, just wait until you see the one you want and touch it to collect.

How deep into the labyrinth do you dare explore? Can you reach Molobros and defeat him? Good luck!

Dragon's Havoc:

When starting a new game, you first need to choose to play as the Dragon of Storms or the Dragon of Embers. There is no effective difference in abilities between the two dragons. In a two-player game, the first player is the Dragon of Storms, and the second player is the Dragon of Embers.

Your dragon will gain power as their rage, or havoc, is increased, but be careful, as you can easily lose this power if you are reckless! When you hit enemies, your Havoc Meter will increase. This will increase your speed and the rate at which you can use your fire breath. Any missed shots will decrease your Havoc Meter and slow you back down.

A full Havoc Meter will give you a shield, allowing you to get hit without losing a life. A full Havoc Meter will also double the score of any enemy you defeat.

Getting hit by an enemy, shot, or solid object will empty your meter and you will lose one life.

There are seven stages, each with three sections: An outdoor area, an indoor area, and a battle with a Dragon Monarch.

The game is over when you lose all lives, or if you pass all seven stages and defeat the plans of the Seven Dragon Monarchs! If you lose all of your lives, you may continue on the last stage you played, but your score will be reset to zero points.


Edited by Sabertooth
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Create New...