I did the math(s). It checked out.

dgrubb

Hello, Atari IO!

I'm a long-time fan of retro computing, but pretty new to Atari. I don't have very much in the way of personal experiences with Atari or arcades, as many here do, in fact I suck at playing video games, but came to it through another route. I'm an embedded software developer so I enjoy learning about different platforms, CPU architectures and clever electronics.

I got started on a project to emulate a 2600 in a micro-controller (currently lacking a TIA, but the 6507 mostly works ;) ) and came to really appreciate the elegance of it considering the cost restrictions in place, along with the creativity of the developers tasked with creating engaging games.

I'm also very interested in the Jaguar. Despite its Hindenburg-esque history it remains a fascinating console: custom ASICs, weird co-processor architecture, love it. I hope to learn a lot more about it (I decided to sign up after coming across the thread with the JagDuo PCB and listening to a few of Shinto's game-by-game podcasts) and maybe even enough to be able to try my hand at a bit of homebrew hardware and software.

Cheers,

Dave.

Edited by dgrubb

Welcome!  We'd love to know more about your 2600 emulation project.  Was that for a commercial product?  Pretty cool stuff.

Sure! It was a kind of research project, really. The schematics for the 2600 are very simple looking (three ICs!) so I figured it would be possible for somebody to understand it top-to-bottom. If you can write a good emulator of a system then you can reasonably claim to have a good knowledge of it. I'm also interested in uCs and the idea of fitting an entire console into the computational power of a single IC or two tickled me a bit.

Having said that, embedded stuff is usually more I/O bound so raw processing power is less of an issue than some other architecture characteristics (see below).

There are a few related and experimental projects on my GitHub: