eBay stories, strategies and finds

Sabertooth

I've been buying and selling on eBay since 1998 and have a lot of stories related to retro gaming. Some of these are good and some are bad. I thought that we could start a thread to share eBay stories (positive and negative), finds and strategies. I'll go first:

Buying A Fixer Upper:

In the last few years I've been picking up "broken" consoles that are cosmetically clean. Many of these have been advertised as for parts with descriptions "wont power on" or "fuzzy". Several of these consoles have been just fine. A few had minor issues related to the rf cable, power supply, controller, or power jack. Most of these auctions get few bids and I've won them for as little as $5 plus shipping.

My best find was a boxed Odyssey 2 with something like 20 boxed games for $15. It just needed a cleaning and a new rf cable. I've also won a Sears Heavy Sixer, a 7800 w/ composite mod, two Woodys and a Vader. Some of these really worked fine or had minor fixes requiring little time and slight soldering skill. My most recent find was a boxed 2600 Jr with paperwork, receipt and protective film intact. The box is beat and the listing indicated that it looked mint but "wouldn't power on". When I got it, I noted that it didnt have an RF cable so I ran out to the garage, grabbed a spare, cleaned the cartridge slot and viola.... there be whales in here.

I always look at a few things when browsing "broken" listings:

1) Is the described problem a common issue that I recognize and feel confident that I can fix? If so, I'm much more likely to take the plunge.

2) Does the seller have multiple listings for retro game consoles? Or do they list a wide range of second hand goods.

If they're focused on gaming, I tend to steer clear because they likely have some tech ability and this could be more trouble than its worth. If they sell knick knacks, they very well may not know how to diagnose/troubleshoot the problem. This is usually a go.